Pioneering college shortlisted for campus of the future

City of Glasgow College has reached the finals of this year’s Green Gown Awards which recognise exceptional sustainability initiatives undertaken by universities and colleges across the UK and Ireland.

The college is up against six universities in the Campus of the Future category which recognises a pathfinding campus and learning innovation.

As the digital revolution continues to drive smart buildings and intelligent campuses, the judges are looking for institutions employing a mix of carbon reduction with enhancement of learning and wider student and community outcomes.

Paul Little, Principal and Chief Executive of City of Glasgow College, said:

“We are delighted to have reached the finals of this national competition. We are very much a pioneering college providing world class educational facilities in the heart of Glasgow.

“The development of our technologically advanced twin site super campus heralded a culture change process with innovative new ways of teaching and learning. Our buildings are not only architecturally stunning but are environmentally responsible and designed to adapt to and accommodate the changing needs of future generations of staff and students.”

Fergal McCauley, Head of Facilities Management, City of Glasgow College, said:

“Our college has in place a working group to manage the continual development of environmental and sustainability policies and practices. These are regularly reviewed and include measures to reduce energy consumption and minimise reliance on fossil fuels; encourage biodiversity, source eco-friendly energy supplies and promote our green travel plan.”

The Green Gown Awards UK & Ireland emphasise the role which the further and higher education sector plays in enabling and empowering young people to tackle pressing global issues to ensure they have a better tomorrow.

Winners will be announced on 8 November 2018 at the National Railway Museum in York. In a new twist to the awards ceremony, attendees will be asked to vote on the night for the winner of a new category, Outstanding Leadership Team of the Year.