Allan Glen’s old boys bid the renowned Glaswegian school a final farewell

Alan Glenn’s Club Secretary Mike McCreery and Principal Paul Little
1 Jul 2013

More than 40 former pupils attended an event held at the old Allan Glen’s school building on Cathedral Street to bid the famous building a final farewell. The building, which is currently used by City of Glasgow College, is due to be demolished later this year to make way for the college’s new, £228 million state-of-the-art campus.

The exclusive secondary school, which was established after the death of Allan Glen’s a successful Glasgow tradesman and businessman 1850, was set up to “give a good practical education and preparation for trades or businesses, to between 40 to 50 boys, the sons of tradesmen or persons in the industrial classes of society.” Notable people to have attended the school include artist Charles Rennie Mackintosh, writer and actor Dirk Bogarde and Lord Todd of Trumpington.

The event was organised by City of Glasgow College to honour the building’s rich heritage and to allow former students the opportunity tour the premises one last time.The attending alumni donated a book of rememberance to Paul Little, the Principal of City of Glasgow College, which will be put on display when the new campus opens.

Paul Little, Principal of City of Glasgow College, says: “It was an honour to have some of the Allan Glen’s boys back in the college to see their old school for the last time. The building which bears their name has served the City of Glasgow College and, before that, the people of Glasgow extremely well. However, we are now looking forward to an exciting new chapter with the building of our new campus. We will ensure that the Allan Glen name lives on in our new college.”

Whilst Allan Glen’s was originally only set up to accommodate 40 pupils, the new City of Glasgow College campus will be equipped to accommodate an impressive 40,000 students.

Share this